What is an air test?

An air test is a test for leaks in drainage systems, in soil, waste, and ventilating pipe systems, or in ductwork; all openings are sealed, and compressed air is introduced into the system; air leakage is indicated by means of a U-gauge or other suitable pressure gauge.