Tell me the story of flash?

In DC comics, five different characters have been the Flash since 1940. Barry Allen, the best known Flash, first appeared in 1956. While working as a police scientist, Allen gained the speed force after lightening struck a shelf of chemicals. He thereafter could move and think at a superhuman rate.