Who invented the first scooter?

Scooters were first invented in Germany in 1817 when Karl von Drains de Sauerbrun created a two-wheeled ride. In 1916, Arthur Hugo Cecil Gibson and Joseph F. Merkel created the first motorized scooter or the autoped.