What is a philanthropist?

A philanthropist is a person who seeks to promote the welfare of others, particularly by the generous donation of money to good causes.

---

According to the Cambridge dictionary, a philanthropist is someone who gives money to help people who are poor or sick, or to pay for things such as museums or schools that are good for society.