Why is short bread called shortbread?

The biscuits made from flour,butter,and sugar are called shortbread because of the crumbly texture due to the high fat content.

---

1. Shortbread is called short because of the traditional ratio of one part sugar to two parts butter that lends a high fat content to the dough. This yields a soft, buttery crumb that melts in your mouth.