What is basil cell carcinoma?

Basal cell carcinoma is a type of skin cancer. Basal cell carcinoma begins in the basal cells, a type of cell within the skin that produces new skin cells as old ones die off. Basal cell carcinoma occurs most often on areas of the skin that are exposed to the sun, such as your head and neck.