What's the difference between a subaru forester and a subaru outback?

The Forester falls into the small SUV category, while the Outback is considered a mid-size SUV. The Outback is slightly wider, slightly lower, and about 9 inches longer than the Forester. It is slightly heavier and costs about $2,000 more. However, they have similar cargo volume and the same engine