What's the history of antibiotics?

The word 'antibiotics' was first used over 30 years after scientists began to observe chemicals that only attacked bacterial cells and not others, by the Ukrainian-American inventor and microbiologist Selman Waksman, who in his lifetime discovered over 20 antibiotics.