Who originally wrote somewhere over the rainbow?

"Over the Rainbow" is a ballad composed by Harold Arlen with lyrics by Yip Harburg. It was written for the movie The Wizard of Oz and was sung by actress Judy Garland in her role as Dorothy Gale.