Can cats see themselves in the mirror?

While cats can see themselves in the mirror, they don't recognize themselves, when they look at a mirror image. A cat will eventually realize that the reflection they're attacking doesn't have a scent, so they'll figure out that they can just ignore the reflection, because it doesn't pose a threat.