How did ron emmanuel lose his finger?

While a high school student working part-time at an Arby's restaurant, Rahm Emanuel severely cut his right middle finger on a meat slicer, which was later infected from swimming in Lake Michigan. His finger was partially amputated due to the severity of the infection.