What's a green chili pepper?

Typical types of chilies packaged as green chilies are Anaheim or New Mexico chiles, Poblano, or Pasilla, which are generally the milder types of chilies. Green chiles are added to many recipes for appetizers, soups, stews, egg dishes, main dishes, snacks, and sauces.

---

The fact is, almost all chili peppers start out green and change color as they ripen.