What numbers can be recycled?

Plastics with recycling codes of 1 through 6 can theoretically be recycled. Recycling centers, however, typically limit the types of plastic they will accept for economic reasons, and this will vary from place to place. 5, 4, and 2 are the most widely used plastics.