What numbers can be recycled?

Plastics with recycling codes of 1 through 6 can theoretically be recycled. Recycling centers, however, typically limit the types of plastic they will accept for economic reasons, and this will vary from place to place. 5, 4, and 2 are the most widely used plastics.

---

Plastic recycling is a topic of much debate. Some argue that any and all plastics should be recycled. Others have shown that, due to facility and technology limitations, that only plastics marked number 1, 2, and 5 can effectively be recycled and that black plastics, regardless of number cannot be.