Is there such thing as a red banana?

YES. Red bananas are a group of varieties of banana with reddish-purple skin. When ripe, raw red bananas have a flesh that is cream to light pink in color. They are also softer and sweeter than the yellow Cavendish varieties, some with a slight raspberry flavor and others with an earthy one.