When do you capitalize north?

When north is a proper name of a person or a place or a thing, such as; "General Oliver North", "North Dakota", or the formal region defined by U.S. Census; known as "The Northeast", then it is proper to capitalize the "N" in North, but not for casual cardinal directions, like "Go north".