What is the purpose of a whale?

Like all living beings, whales occupy a role in the food chain and thus contribute to the balance of the marine ecosystem. As predators, they feed on fish and invertebrates; as prey, they may be hunted by other predators (sharks, whales, etc.) and by Man.