What company invented ethernet?

Robert Metcalfe is credited with the invention of the ethernet. He worked at XEROX. His coworkers are also credited: David Boggs, Butler Lampson and, Chuck Thacker. They actually came up with the protocol and the software to make a multi-user wired, local network.