What's the highest level of an earthquake?

There are a number of seismic magnitude scales in use today. They indicate the magnitude or overall strength of an earthquake. The commonly-noted Richter Scale from 1 to 10, is logarithmic, meaning each subsequent level is 10 times stronger than that of the preceding rate.