What is the biggest star in the whole galaxy?

The variable hypergiant UY Scuti is the largest known star in the universe with a radius about 1,700 times larger than the sun. Or, to put it another way, almost 5 billion suns could fit inside a sphere the size of UY Scuti.

---

The largest known star in the universe, UY Scuti is a variable hypergiant with a radius around 1,700 times larger than the radius of the sun. To put that in perspective, the volume of almost 5 billion suns could fit inside a sphere the size of UY Scuti.