Was higgins really robin masters?

In early seasons of the 1980's version of the show, Robin Masters voice was supplied by Orson Welles, so Higgins, played by John Hillerman, was definitely not Robin Masters. It later seasons, after Orson Welles died, the story line changed and left it a mystery as to whether Higgens was Masters.