How much is two fingers of whiskey?

Ordering 2 fingers of whiskey in saloons in the Old West, meant you would get straight, room temperature whiskey poured in a glass up to the height of the barman's 2 fingers. This is no longer common as bartenders fingers vary in size & most bars now have a standardized pour of 1.25 to 1.5 ounces.