How is coral made?

A coral reef is made of thin layers of calcium carbonate Stony corals are the corals primarily responsible for laying the foundations of, and building up, reef structures. Massive reef structures are formed when each individual stony coral organism—or polyp—secretes a skeleton of calcium carbonate.