Why are the police called the five oh?

Originally the police in Hawaii were called the Five-oh. because Hawaii is the 50th state, 5-oh was an obvious fit. In the 1960s & '70s There was a popular TV Police drama called Hawaii 5-oh. Eventually, the term became slang & has been applied to all police