What smokey the bear a real bear?

Smokey Bear was a cub found in a tree with badly burned paws and hind legs in the midst of a wildfire in New Mexico's Capitan Mountains in 1950. After treatment, he was given to the by the New Mexico Game Warden to the Forest Service to represent a program of fire prevention and conservation.