What is the story of david versus goliath?

The story of David and Goliath is about David, a young Israelite shepherd boy who killed the giant Philistine Goliath with a sling and stone. Goliath had taunted the Israelite army for 40 days and terrified the Israelite army. David was a boy and used his sling to cast a stone that killed Goliath