Why did kobe bryant change his number from eight to twenty four?

Kobe decided he wanted a new number for the second half of his career. He chose number 24, as this is the number he had in high school.

---

it symbolizes the amount of time...the hours in a day he spent on basket ball. he was the greatest nba player of all time and he will be missed. r.i.p