Is puff pastry the same as filo dough?

Both phyllo dough and puff pastry are unleavened. However, puff pastry's lamination allows it to rise in the oven. Phyllo dough is made by rolling and stretching the dough into a paper-thin sheet; puff pastry is made by folding and re-folding dough and butter together until they become cohesive