What is e. l. d. stand for?

ELD stands for Electronic Logging Device. It's a DOT mandated electronic hardware that connects to a vehicle's engine to record driving hours. It includes a screen for the driver, so they can monitor their current status and print hour logs when required by DOT inspectors.