Is gelato less fattening than ice cream?

Both have similar base ingredients: water, fat (in the form of milk or cream) and sugar, which are mixed together and churned (moved around vigorously). Gelato has more milk than cream, and less sugar, compared to ice cream and, in turn, has less fat.