Who played the deadbody in the big chill?

Kevin Costner played Alex, the deceased friend of the other former collegians who gather for his funeral. Flashback scenes including Costner were filmed but ultimately cut from the final version of the film. Only flashes of Alex’s body are shown in the funeral scenes.