Do you have to keep strawberries in the refrigerator?

According to the US Department of Agriculture, you can safely store whole, fresh fruits at room temperature. Whole strawberries will generally keep for one to two days at normal room temperature. However, refrigeration allows strawberries to keep for up to a week.