What is the origin of canadian bacon?

Canadian bacon is generally believed to have originated in Southern Ontario, in the guise of a regional dish known as peameal bacon, a form of unsmoked, wet cured pork loin, trimmed into a spherical shape and rolled in ground yellow peas or cornmeal, to help extend its shelf life.