What's a mega processing power?

The Mega 2560 does not use the FTDI USB-to-serial driver chip used in past designs. Instead, it features the ATmega16U2 (ATmega8U2 in the revision 1 and revision 2 Arduino boards) programmed as a USB-to-serial converter.