What's the average airspeed velocity of an unladen swallow?

This is a line from the film, Monty Python and the Holy Grail. The Bridgekeeper asks Arthur, "What is the airspeed velocity of an unladen swallow?" Arthur asks him, "African or European?" The Bridgekeeper is unable to answer, and is thus launched into the chasm, so we never know the answer.