Who is murdoch nichols from gorillaz?

Murdoc Faust Niccals (born Murdoc Alphonce Niccals) is the fictional bassist for the virtual band Gorillaz. He is voiced by Phil Cornwell, and was created by Damon Albarn and Jamie Hewlett.