Is there such thing as a water snake?

Yes, there is a species of snake called a Water Snake. It is non venomous, but strongly resembles a water moccasin, which has a dangerous venomous bite. There are also other snakes that spend a lot of time around or in water, that are commonly called water snakes, though they are different species.