Who made the first chainsaw?

According to history, Scottish doctors, John Aitken and Jeffray James, made the first prototype chainsaw to be used during childbirth. The chainsaw was invented to perform a brutal surgery known as a symphysiotomy on laboring women,

---

The first chainsaw was designed by German orthopaedist Bernhard Heine in 1830. He called it the osteotome, from the Greek osteo (bone) and tome or tomi (cut); literally, the bonecutter. This chainsaw, as well as many that followed, were used for medical purposes.