What are dry erase markers?

A dry erase marker does not require water or solution to saturate the ink in order to be removed from a smooth surface (such as plastic or glass). It can be “erased” using a dry cloth, eraser, or even wiping your hand across it. Many schools use dry erase markers as an alternative to chalk boards.