How long does it take for light to get from the earth to the sun?

Sunlight travels at the speed of light. Photons emitted from the surface of the Sun need to travel across the vacuum of space to reach our eyes. The short answer is that it takes sunlight an average of 8 minutes and 20 seconds to travel from the Sun to the Earth.

---

It takes 499.0 seconds for Sunlight to reach the Earth from the Sun.