How do you get ketchup stain out of a shirt?

Scrape off solid ketchup, run water through the back of the stain to flush it out, rub liquid laundry detergent into the stain in a circular motion moving from the outside to the center. Hold the shirt up to the light to see if stain remains. Repeat if it does. Apply stain remover and then wash.