Why is the orleans called the big easy?

In the early 1900s there was a dance hall in New Orleans called “The Big Easy.” But the nickname did not become famous until the early 1970s when a Louisiana newspaper writer began calling it by this name. She compared the easy-going way of life there to the hurried pace of life in New York City.