Who created the cheese burger?

There are several claims as to who created the first cheeseburger. Lionel Sternberger is reputed to have introduced the cheeseburger in 1926 while he was a fry cook at his Dad's sandwich shop, "The Rite Spot". As a experiment he dropped a slab of American cheese on a sizzling hamburger.