What's the difference between england and great britain?

The UK is a sovereign state that includes England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. While Great Britain is an island situated off the northwest coast of Europe. The British Isles – a collection of over 6,000 islands, of which Great Britain is the largest. And England is a country within the UK.