Why is portland oregon nicknamed stumptown?

Stumptown is one of several nicknames of Portland, Oregon. In the mid-19th century, the city's growth led residents to clear a lot of land quickly, but the tree stumps were not immediately removed; that people used to jump from stump to stump to avoid the muddy, unpaved roads.