Why is portland oregon nicknamed stumptown?

Stumptown is one of several nicknames of Portland, Oregon. In the mid-19th century, the city's growth led residents to clear a lot of land quickly, but the tree stumps were not immediately removed; that people used to jump from stump to stump to avoid the muddy, unpaved roads.

---

Portland, Oregon is nicknames Stumptown due to the heavy logging that was done in the forrests surrounding the city. In 1850, Captain John C. Ainsworth was quoted as saying that there were “more stumps than trees” in Portland.