When is an onion bad?

When it either gets soft and mushy from being left out in a cupboard or hard when left in the crisper.

---

Onions should feel firm & dry but may have some loose outer skins. Onions should be free of gray or black mold & should not have any visible signs of sprouting. From Onions-Layers of Flavor Culinary Curriculum from the National Onion Association.