Do you trim hydrangea?

Yes you do trim hydrangeas. Because they bloom both on old and new wood, hydrangeas can be cut back at any time. When pruning a hydrangea that blooms on old wood, first remove any dead limbs, then crossing branches, thinning out the interior of the plant to open it to more sunlight.