What is the difference between a new moon and a lunar eclipse?

New moons occur because of our changing viewpoint of the Moon; lunar eclipses occur when the Earth gets in the way of the light from the Sun and stops it hitting the Moon.

---

A new Moon is a phase of the luna cycle that occurrs each month. A luna eclipse is where the shadow of the sun passes over the moon and this doesn't happen every year