Why do dogs have more teeth than humans?

Like humans, dogs go through two sets of teeth during their lifetime, usually losing their 28 baby teeth during puppyhood. Adult dogs have 42 teeth, the most prominent of which are the long and pointy canines that help them hold objects, tear up food, and defend themselves.