Do yams and sweet potatoes taste different?

Yes. What is marketed in the United States as “yams” are really a variety of SweetPotato, grown in the South. A true yam is a starchy edible root of the Dioscorea genus, and is generally imported to America from the Caribbean. It is rough and scaly and very low in beta carotene.