What is a c. r. t. tv?

Old televisions used to use a heavy glass tube called a "picture tube" or CRT (which is short for Cathode Ray Tube). CRT TV's have mostly been displaced by flatter, lighter, cheaper and more reliable technologies such as plasma, LCD, and OLED.